Magic Fizzing Treasure Rocks

Tonight was the annual Kids’ Night Out in our little downtown. Every year, all the stores and restaurants put together activities, crafts and special treats for kids to enjoy. It’s one of our favorite nights of the year! This year, we let kids hunt for sparkling jewels inside Magic Fizzing Treasure Rocks. We had SO many requests for the “recipe” that I thought I’d post it here.

The idea came from one of my favorite blogs, Growing a Jeweled Rose. Crystal calls it Magic Treasure Ice. I did tweak things a little (mainly with glitter), so I’ll give you my step-by-step.

The day before, mix baking soda and water together to create a pourable paste. I know that’s sort of an oxymoron, but it’s the best way I know to describe it. I found that if I used too much water, I didn’t get the FIZZ I wanted in the final result. The original “recipe” calls for a 1:1 mix, but I like a lot more baking soda than that. You can also add food coloring or liquid watercolor to the mixture during this step.

Next, put your treasures into ice cube trays. I used sparkly plastic gems and pearls from the craft store, but you could use anything small. I also added GLITTER. My favorite glitter for this is the Martha Stewart brand holographic glitter. That stuff is incredible.

Pour your baking soda/water mix over the treasures to fill your ice cube trays. Then freeze overnight.

When you’re ready for the kids to play, pop out your treasure rocks and place them on a plate or tray. Optional: roll them in baking soda first to give them a thin coating. We did this so that the FIZZ was more exciting right off the bat.

Then, let kids drip and drop vinegar all over the rocks with pipettes (I love pipettes!!). The rocks will fizz and eventually dissolve, revealing the sparkling treasure inside. We used Watercolor Magic liquid watercolor to color our vinegar, but you could use food coloring, or leave it plain.

Tip: If you’re doing this project for a large event, like we did, you’ll want something for the kids to take their treasures home in. We used coin envelopes from the office supply store and let the kids decorate them with washi tape and stickers while they waited for their turn with the Treasure Rocks.

Leave a Reply

