“Art Glass” fortune cookies from melted plastic cups

fortune cookies made from melted Chinet cups

“Fortune Cookies” made from melted Chinet cups

 

I was searching around for a good group project for our next Crafternoon. We usually have between 40 and 60 kids from ages 3 through 11, so I’m always on the hunt for art projects that are inexpensive but interesting for a wide age range.

Inspired by this post at Dollar Store Crafts, Susan B. and I tried making necklaces by melting Solo cups. It was fun! We liked it. But then my eyes landed on a half-empty package of Chinet Cut Crystal cups (the 9-ounce size) that we had left over from an event. I saw that they were #6 plastic (the kind that Dollar Store Crafts recommends for shrinking), so I decided to give it a try.

I was blown away when the cup melted into … the perfect shape of a fortune cookie. I tried it again … another fortune cookie. Then I started coloring the cups first with Sharpies — even better! I found that if I baked them at about 300 degrees (in our toaster oven) for about 2.5 minutes, they shrank and melted to just the right shape, with openings to slide a slip of paper in after the “cookies” cooled.

We set the oven directly in front of a wide-open window with a box fan sucking air out, to avoid the possibility of any fumes (especially since we are doing it with kids)!

"Art glass" fortune cookies made from melted Chinet cups.

“Art glass” fortune cookies made from melted Chinet cups.

 

 

Leave a Reply

