Small Business Saturday 2014 wrap-up

I am having a hard time expressing my feelings about this year’s Small Business Saturday.

Erin S at Small Business Saturday

Erin S at Small Business Saturday

We had our best day in the history of the store (nine Christmas seasons). It was amazing. We did not expect it, and we are so grateful for your support. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts.

On the night before Small Business Saturday, I wrote a post on Facebook that went like this:

Tomorrow is Small Business Saturday. It’s easy to forget this, but behind the scenes at pretty much any small business you visit, there’s a person (or more than one person) who lies awake at night worrying, wondering, planning and dreaming. A person who can’t imagine their life without the business they’ve built. I recently read an article about Bonnie Slotnick and her cookbook shop in NYC. She said, “I am the store and the store is me.”

I think we are truly lucky in Staunton to have so very many wonderful, successful small businesses. Those businesses are a big part of the reason that our little corner of the world is such a great place to live. I can’t wait to take some time tomorrow to shop at my favorite small businesses and show my fellow sleepless dreamers how much I value what they’ve built.”

I did sneak out of Pufferbellies for an hour or so to shop, and I felt the energy of Small Business Saturday all around our little town. And when I got home, I slept. All night long.

Leave a Reply

